The Unz Review: An Alternative Media Selection
A Collection of Interesting, Important, and Controversial Perspectives Largely Excluded from the American Mainstream Media
 BlogviewMichelle Malkin Archive
Fairness Doctrine Watch: the FCC's "Diversity Panel"
🔊 Listen RSS
Email This Page to Someone

 Remember My Information


Bookmark Toggle AllToCAdd to LibraryRemove from Library • BShow CommentNext New CommentNext New ReplyRead More
ReplyAgree/Disagree/Etc. More... This Commenter This Thread Hide Thread Display All Comments
These buttons register your public Agreement, Disagreement, Thanks, LOL, or Troll with the selected comment. They are ONLY available to recent, frequent commenters who have saved their Name+Email using the 'Remember My Information' checkbox, and may also ONLY be used three times during any eight hour period.
Ignore Commenter Follow Commenter
Search Text Case Sensitive  Exact Words  Include Comments
List of Bookmarks

Gird your loins again, conservatives. The diversity-mongers are preparing the next step toward the un-Fairness Doctrine. Obama’s acting FCC chairman has named a revamped “Diversity Panel” that will meet on May 7 to remake the airwaves. Via Streaming Magazine:

Acting FCC Chairman Michael Copps has announced the full membership of the commission’s Advisory Committee on Diversity for Communications in the Digital Age. On the panel are:

Henry Rivera, Emma Bowen Foundation for Minority Interests in Media (Chairperson)

Raul Alarcon Jr., Spanish Broadcasting System

Jenny Alonzo, Mio.TV

James M. Assey, Jr., National Cable Television Association

Geoffrey C. Blackwell, Chickasaw Nation Industries, Inc.

Matthew Blank, Showtime Networks

Maria E. Brennan, American Women in Radio and Television

Kathy Brown, Verizon

Toni Cook Bush, Virgin Mobile

Alan B. Davidson, Google, Inc.

Ralph de la Vega, AT&T Mobility and Consumer Markets

Steve Hillard, Council Tree Communications

David Honig, Minority Media and Telecommunications Council

Rodney Hood, National Credit Union Administration

Ronald Johnson, Ronson Network Services

Debra Lee, BET Holdings, Inc.

Jane Mago, National Association of Broadcasters

Robert Mendez, ABC Television Network

Marc H. Morial, National Urban League

Karen K. Narasaki, Asian American Justice Center

Melissa Newman, Qwest

Jake Oliver, Afro-American Newspapers

Susan K. Patrick, Patrick Communications

Lisa Pickrum, The RLJ Companies

Rey Ramsey, One Economy Corporation

Michael V. Roberts, Roberts Broadcasting Companies LLC

Andrew Schwartzman, Media Access Project

Anita Stephens Graham, Opportunity Capital Partners

Diane Sutter, Shooting Star Broadcasting

Charles Warfield, Inner City Broadcasting

James Winston, National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters

Copps said, “I am extremely pleased to announce the membership of this vital Advisory Committee, which will provide an important and independent voice for strengthening our commitment to diversity. The sad truth is that the diversity of this great nation is not reflected in the ownership of its media and telecommunications facilities. The time has come to chart a new course, to roll up our sleeves and get to work to craft sustainable solutions.”

The committee is set to meet on May 7 at 10 a.m. at FCC headquarters; the meeting will be open to the public.

Seton Motley at Newsbusters has more:

Rivera got the gig heading up this racial grumble group because he has long championed the concept of “media diversity.”

The proponents of station owner affirmative action are the same Leftists who were so ardently in favor of reinstating the Doctrine. One can thusly be forgiven for seeing this as an alternative route for the Left to reach their long-sought original destination – the silencing of conservative and Christian talk radio via governmental regulatory fiat.

And it’s not just our imagination – it’s also our lying eyes. The Center for American Progress is a left-wing hack outfit headed by former Clinton Administration and Obama Transition Team adviser John Podesta. And they released on January 22, 2007 a report entitled “Local Media Diversity Matters – Measure Media Diversity According to Democratic Values, Not Market Values.”


The name of the report is right up this Committee’s alley and instantaneously gives any sensible person the Willies. So anti-free market a title is but a prelude – the recommendations are a series of assaults on the broadcast industry so as to effect their desired ideological outcome – less conservatives on the air.

Many on the Left see the media pantheon as fraught with racism and sexism. And of course the airwaves are dominated by ideological monopol-ism. There are too many white men owning too many radio and television stations that broadcast too many conservatives to suit liberal tastes.

They truly believe the former is the only possible explanation for the latter. The existence of Laura Ingraham, Monica Crowley, Tammy Bruce and other un-white males in the talk radio universe fails to persuade them. Neither does the ratings argument – thems that get the ratings get the airwaves. Conservatives have listeners; liberals do not.

According to the Left, these white male station owners don’t put conservatives on the air because they make them money, they put them on the air because they are conservatives. The anti-free speech/anti-free marketeers remain as always steadfastly impervious to facts.

If at first you can’t compete, run to the government and cry “DIVERSITY!”

(Republished from by permission of author or representative)
• Category: Ideology • Tags: Fairness Doctrine